Behind the Scenes # 1

Paula Vivas-Avila
Diving Into The Bay Area Work Culture
3 min readSep 15, 2016

Today a very wise woman, that I deeply admire, made me realise that I’ve been missing to share a very important perspective in our project, my own.

I stand up for everything we (Helene and me) have shared so far, it’s honest and it’s the story of the people we have interviewed. But there is another side that I’ve seen from the Bay Area that I want to share too.

Some Context about me…

I’m from Bogota, and I had lived in Colombia all my life, until last year when I decided to move to Stockholm and study at Hyper Island. Also I’m full of emotions, so be prepared.

Sweden, challenged me in a lot of ways beyond what I expected. But also allowed me to connect with myself, my purpose, my values, my culture, my beliefs, my fears, my insecurities, my limits.

This last year has shaped me in many ways, but most importantly, it has allowed me to zoom out and build a new intention for my life as a Colombian woman.

So, what does this mean?

I’ve learned and experienced that as a woman I have the same rights as men, I’m aware Scandinavia is way ahead in terms of gender equality compared to the rest of the world, but this is something that I will bring with me and will actively try to raise awareness around.

Also, inequality in general. I know I’ve been a privileged person, I’ve had access to an education and opportunities that the majority of people in my country can not even dream of. Honestly I was somehow insensitive to this situation. But after seeing and living in a society where everyone has the same right for education and health, I’m not indifferent anymore. This is a big problem, not only in Colombia, but around the world.

I will do my best to be part of the solution, and HELP to create human businesses and innovations, that build social development and a better world.

First impressions of the Bay Area Culture

To be fair, I feel I still don’t have the big picture of the Bay Area. First because we’ve only been 2 weeks in San Francisco (now we are in San Jose), second, because our focus has been the Tech/Startups landscape.

Having said that, I’m going to share some thoughts and reflections that I have collected after exploring the city and talking to women, men, business leaders, entrepreneurs, designers, students, a lawyer, a journalist, uber drivers, immigrants (Sirian, Philippines, Swedish, Colombian, Mexican), family and friends.

The Homeless

Some people warned me about it, “there are a lot of homeless people around the city”, but the reality was beyond my imagination. This area, known for being the leading Innovation Hub, where all the tech companies, big enterprises, venture capitals, and sharpest/successful people are…

So much money, power and drive in one place, and at the same time so many people in the streets, high on drugs, sharing the same space. I’m not aware of the reasons behind this situation, the only thing I know is that this is not normal. Not in the leading Innovation Hub.

The unspoken Elections

I’m not into politics, and I’m not going to start a discussion around it. I’m just surprised that no one talks about it. why?

Work Life

I have the impression that work here is a passion! I admire the drive and commitment that people here have for their work. People care and look for a work that is meaningful for them. But do they ever rest or disconnect?

Women in Tech/Business

I will certainly continue exploring this topic, and I need more perspectives, but it’s not easy to find women in tech and in senior positions. Different of what I’ve seen in Sweden, where having a family is not a limitation for having a career (I know the government is way more supportive than it is here). But in a very traditional way, it seems that in the Bay Area, the career sacrifice remains on the woman side.

Friendly and Multicultural

Since day one, I felt a friendly atmosphere around here. People are open and approachable. They want to hear your story, why are you here, where are you from, what are you doing… I like to talk (a lot), so this is definitely something I’ve enjoyed about the culture.

Also, a mix of all the parts of the world, and amazing food :)

I’ll continue sharing my personal reflections as part of the project, and dig deeper in the time I have left. Thank you wise woman for the challenge.

--

--