So long and thanks for the reps!

Benn Banasik
Divinity and Dice
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2016

Yesterday I confirmed to a local newspaper what I had decided some time ago. I will not be nominating as a Candidate for the 2016 Local Government Election. As a former, and youngest, Mayor of Wollondilly, Deputy Mayor of 4 years, MACROC President and Councillor of two terms with the highest vote of any candidate my decision has not been made lightly. The role Councillor is sought for service to the local community not for money or glory. The cost on your family, work, study and life balance can be heavy if the job is taken seriously. At this point in my life I would be unable to assure the community that I could give my all if re-elected. That doesn’t mean the next few months will be taken at a leisurely pace. I have given my all to every Council meeting since being elected and I will continue to do so.

We have achieved many things over the past 8 years. Each of my elections was like a contract taken to the local community. The promises I made became expectations of the people who voted for me. The delivery of a new Library for Wollondilly, the referendum for popular vote for Mayor, the insurance reclassification of Appin, the Bargo streetscape, keeping Lend Lease accountable to the Wilton and Bingara residents, Douglas Park Hall replacement, Menangle school transfer to community ownership, the Bridgewater protection of a housing cap, a bike track and playground upgrade for Yanderra and significant upgrade of a number of roads were all part of my pledge. Some have been achieved, some are still in progress but now have the Council’s full support, which is a positive and significant shift from 8 years ago. The effort made to reach to this point has caused many sleepless nights. I came into the Council not to make friends; I put off many with my steadfast insistence to argue for what I believed in. The achievements and shift of the Council means that my personal toll was worth all the effort and my promise to the Community have been upheld.

During my time at Council I have remained Independent despite working with a number of parties in both Federal and State sphere. I believe that Council should not be the plaything of political parties. That is why I never accepted any political donations, I received no help from political parties and I was determined to run my own race. It is up to each Councillor if they want to be a member of a political party, however my hope is that we have a strong independent voice on Council that will continue.

I also hope for more young representation. Generation X and Y are the least represented generation at any level of Government in Australia. The pressures to provide for a family, travel for work and focus on studies mean that many are squeezed out of the option to run. If you do have time, if you do have passion, if you want a make a difference, if you stand by your convictions, then I strongly encourage you to stand up and run. The hours are long, the effort is beyond measure but the reward of representing your community makes it all worth it.

I am excitedly looking forward to the next chapter in my life and I pray that the Wollondilly community will remain strongly represented.

--

--

Benn Banasik
Divinity and Dice

Husband, Dad, Advisor for Judy Hannan MP & Former Mayor and Councillor for #Wollondilly. Views are my own, thoughts on philosophy, political thought and gaming.