What is the Perfect Length for Your Podcast Episodes?

There’s no one-size-fits-all podcasts

Kristi Jacobsen
DIY Podcasts

--

As you begin your podcast launch process, you should ask yourself how long you want your episodes to run.

You might see podcasts that run an hour-long or only five to ten minutes, but each podcast is different, even those in the same niche or industry. So how do you determine what length is right for you and your podcast?

The length of your podcast depends on certain factors, and it’s not one-size-fits-all podcasts. It might even take some trial and error and testing to determine the correct length for you and your audience.

Here are the factors to consider when determining your podcast episode length:

Factors to Consider:

Your content determines the podcast episode length

We improve by learning from our mistakes, and my first mistake in podcasting was to name my podcast with a specific time limit: 10.

With my first podcast, History in 10, I endeavored to give a history lesson in 10 minutes. It seemed easy at first, given the details of the people, places, and events I researched. Yet, no matter how much I researched a topic or additional details I included, I hardly…

--

--

Kristi Jacobsen
DIY Podcasts

I write about podcasting, entrepreneurship, digital nomadism, and achieving long-term results.