You’re On Deck — DJ Dharma #1

Bhavin Prajapati
DJ Dharma
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2023

--

Since that moment, I have dreamt of being a DJ.

I’ve listened to a lot of random electronic dance music (EDM) but the first time I saw an EDM DJ was in 2004 during the opening ceremonies of the Olympics, DJ Tiësto (now just known as Tiësto) was on deck.

Tiësto playing at the 2004 Athens Summer Olympics

I was awe-inspired by how Tiësto would flow through vinyls, the songs matched the “parade of the athletes” into the stadium perfectly.

Since that moment, I have dreamt of being a DJ. I want to feel the switches and sliders of the controller to move people to the beat. There is real power to it, it’s a type of power that is not like managing people or anything, rather the power of transformation. When I see people dance. I see the energy manifest and somehow being a DJ is my shaman-like qualities at work to help people be better and transform.

I honestly can’t explain it.

So I bit the bullet. I bought a basic DJ controller deck in December 20223. I am going to do it.

It’s time to become something I am scared to become… for some irrational reason… it’s time for a show… I’m embracing who I really am… DJ Dharma.

Let’s press play… together; this blog is about my Friday night learnings with a basic DJ controller to one day perform at an EDM show (even if it’s just a 10 minute set or a Youtube stream).

We’ll get there.

Word count: 234

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
DJ Dharma

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems