Most Valuable Lessons from Communities

Helping and Coaching

--

There is one more year left before I graduate from Dongguk University with a major in Computer Science. As an engineer, I love helping and coaching newcomers to the programming world. I have worked at Code for Designers and Django Girls Seoul. Contributing and teaching in a community has enhanced my programming skills; developed my knowledge of algorithms; as well as given me a new perspective on the I.T. world. I would like to explain what I have learned throughout these activities as a community organizer and coach.

I have seen that many people who like to use apps ask me the same question, “How did you make your app?” They have a desire to create their own apps but they don’t know where to start. I believe that every one can learn how to code and create wonderful things with their minds.

It motivated me to start a community, Code for Designers, with my other colleagues.

Code for Designers 2014 summer with D3 Jubilee at IMPACT HUB Seoul

Code for Designers

For several years, I have run Code for Designers and taught programming basics to Korean graphic designers to develop their communication with software engineers in the workplace. After completing an intensive nine week program, designers can create anything they can imagine.

Django Girls Seoul 2015 with me

Django Girls Seoul

Django Girls is a non-profit foundation that has chapters all over the world. I am fortunate enough to be part of the Seoul chapter as a coach. It is a wonderful opportunity for women in Korea to come together and learn the basics of coding, free of charge.

Moreover, I have been aware that the participation numbers are still low for women in technology and Korea is no exception. I am sure that the Django Girls community is a great opportunity for girls to get into I.T. This will benefit the IT world.

Meet the Organizers; Rachell Calhoun, Sujin Lee, Hassan Abid and Jin Park

Never Alone

Build an idea and concept and present it to the world. In this way, you can find more people who can join in with your idea as well as help improve it. Empirically, it seems to be hard for just one person to start a project. Most successful products or startups are created by two or three people at least.

More Diversity

The people who overcome difficulties don’t do it alone. We need people from diverse backgrounds all working together. It’s insightful, it brings perspective; it inspires people. You’re going to get that when you bring all of these diverse perspectives together. You feel it while talking to people. You know you can make things happen.

We need more bridges between tech and women because tech companies also need to excited about female engineers, and events like this really contribute to that. I really hope to see more of this kind of thing.

Django Girls Seoul 2016 summer at D.CAMP

Here’s my question to you: What are you waiting for?

Imagine with me, for a moment, a world where the stories we tell about how things get made don’t only include the twenty something-year-old Silicon Valley boys, but also girls (especially from Korea). That is amazing to me. It blows my mind.

Jangho J. Choi

--

--