How I passed the AWS Certified Solutions Architect - associate SAA-C03 in 2024

Hemanth S P
DjangoTube:
Published in
7 min readDec 31, 2023

Hello, in this blog post, I’ll go over some of the most crucial things to remember when getting ready for the AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate SAA-C03 test, as well as how to set up the online exam.

The good news is that I took an online exam and passed it 🎉.

# How to prepare for the AWS Certified Solutions Architect — Associate SAA-C03

I used some of the online resources, such as

Exam guide

Always download the latest AWS-certified solution architect associate exam guide and make a note of the list area to understand what the exam can and cannot include.

Tutorials Dojo

on this website, and you choose a course, buy it, and try to study all the test sections and read the cheats provided by this course. If you are signing up for the first time, then use this referral link to sign up.

Whizlabs

This website also contains a lot of good videos and test questions, so try to view all the videos that are related to this course.

Neal Davis

This book also contains a lot of good information to enhance the understanding of the subject on a deep level.

YouTube

Try to watch AWS videos on YouTube by experienced people.

Google search

To check the latest developments on the AWS Serives, always do a Google search inside the AWS Documents because most of the existing ones will change when AWS releases a new version of the Serives, and AWS has a lot of resources. Those changes occur very frequently, so I prefer the AWS document.

Hands-on experience

This is the most important point because the only way to remember the flow is to have a lot of hands-on experience to get better clarity. For example, you may ask, “Where is the cost explorer option available inside the AWS console?”

I think these are enough resources to test your skills.

# How do you schedule your exam 💻?

You have to schedule the exam online, and you can do it online or by going to the nearest test centre.

click on schedule an exam
  • sign in
  • choose sign in method and always use aws builder id
  • click on go to your account
  • a welcome screen look like this
  • Click on the My Profile tab to fill in your personal information.
  • Try to resolve any error banners on the screen, like privacy and policy application or filling in your full name and address, phone number, etc. But make sure that once you enter your first and last name, you cannot edit it in the future. If you want to edit, you have to contact AWS support, and it may take up to 2 weeks until that time. Do not schedule the exam.
  • Always only use your own Mac or Windows laptop, and do not use an office laptop because you may be restricted using a company firewall, VPN, etc.
  • Click on the Benefits tab to see if there are any coupons or other benefits for you.
  • Click on the exam registration tab.
  • View all the available exams and select the preferred one. In our case, we have to choose “AWS Certified Solutions Architect—Associate.”
  • Make sure to run the system test (at least 3 to 4 times) and all the given prerequisites.
  • Make sure you have very good high-speed internet while testing.
  • select your language
  • Select all the checkboxes and click on agree.
  • select proctor language.
  • Select your time zone and click yes.
  • select preferred date from the calendar
  • Choose your preferred time and click on the book appointment button to confirm.
  • then your cart will look like this:
  • Complete the payment and add a coupon if you have any.
  • Remember that we must pay an additional tax amount (27 USD). I am not happy with tax.
  • Once you have made the payment, you will receive a confirmation email from AWS that looks like this:

You can reschedule your exam for your preferred time. and once you confirm, you will get the same email with a new scheduled date.

# On Exam day 📚

On the exam day, do the following:

For example, my exam starts at 12:15 p.m. For that, I need to sit in front of my desk at 11:30 a.m. and open the link for “Check in to start the exam.” That link was showing like this:

I kept on refreshing the link, and suddenly, at 11:45 at the exact time above, the error was gone and showing a 6-digit access code. I opened the OneVu software, which I downloaded on my laptop while doing a system test. and I paste the access code inside the application, and before pasting the access code, I close all the applications running on my Windows laptop except Google Chrome Browser and Onvue Software.

After I pasted the access code, I clicked next, and it was asking for my phone number. I entered my phone number with the country code, and I clicked next. Once I clicked next, I received the verification link on my Android mobile, and I opened the link in my mobile Google Chrome browser. In that link, there were 5 steps we needed to complete. I had to take my own photo, my room’s four photos, and a government-issued valid ID card for the front and back sides of the photo. I completed all 5 steps and clicked save to finish the process on my mobile.

In the OneVu application, I clicked on Next, and after that, inside the application, my cam was showing my video inside the application right side, which was recording. and on the left side, it was my queue position 60 to the protractor to verify my documents. At this time, it was 🕰 12:01 p.m., but my queue position had come to 4th position at this time, at 🕰 12:30 p.m.,

But there was no problem (this delay by them is acceptable for the exam).

At the 4th position, my internet got disconnected, so their software again put me at the top of the queue 😴, so I waited. At this time, my time was 🕰 1:30 p.m. on my clock.

At 🕰 1:44 pm, my queue position was 1 and the proctor contacted me through the webcam. She asked me to show my hands to verify whether I had any smart watches, and she verified my desk using my laptop’s in-built camera. After successful verification through the OneVU application, she started my exam at this time. My clock time was 🕰 1:45 pm,

and I completed the exam at 🕰 3:45 pm by attending all the 65 questions.

Once the exam was completed, I did not get any results immediately. In the AWS documents, it was mentioned that it takes up to 5 business days.

But after 🕰 2 or 3 hours, I got the mail from AWS saying congratulations message like this.

  • Then I went to the AWS website, and it was showing like this:
  • i checked the benefits section it was showing like this
  • I went to the exam history tab to check the mark I received.
  • then i downloaded the score report

conclusion

In this article, I give the resources and information needed to study for the exam and how to schedule and attend the exam online. But one thing I never noticed was the tax amount (27 USD 😔).

Follow me for more if you found this article helpful.

So if you have any doubts, please mention them in the comment section below.

Thank you.

--

--