DJ Miss Nine Interview

DJViBE
DJVIBE
Published in
3 min readDec 6, 2008

[caption id=”attachment_1140" align=”alignnone” width=”640" caption=”miss nine”]

[/caption]

Miss Nine is breaking into the scene with some chart topping compilations that have hit #1 on iTunes. This model turned DJ is another addition to the ultra sexy DJ roster. It’s an industry dominated by men but that’s not deterring this girl from spreading her sexy beats everywhere from Tokyo to Brazil who she beleives is the current party capital of the world.

When did you first get into music?

I have always been into music, but I am deejaying since 2003 and full time since 2005.

What inspired you to become a DJ?

My boyfriend was a DJ in that period. He trained me how to do it. After a while we made some serious plans together.

Do you think all a DJ really needs to be popular these days is Myspace page?

I think it does help a lot nowadays, but I do believe in having more than that. Myspace is a great opportunity to spread your music around the world and get in contact with your fans. But I think you get popular if you are playing very well in the clubs. Then people want to know more about you and visit your myspace page and your own website.

Do you think female DJs have it tough or easier?

Overall I believe they have it tough because it is still a men’s world. A woman has to prove her skills more than a man. We have to work hard to get noticed. Of course some bookings can be easier when you are a girl, but in the end its is pretty tough I believe.

Being a model do you think this gives you an advantage in becoming a successful DJ?

I don’t know, I could help a little bit but I think you can only be successful when you really work hard.

Hands down favourite Dance tune?

Human You by Tube & Berger and Dark Flower by Joris Voorn

Non-dance tune?

Heater by Samim

What is your favorite mix compilations CD?

Invol2er by Sasha

What do you think makes a good Mix CD?

A good mix CD tells you a story. It can take you somewhere, let you feel what the artist feels while he or she made it.

What are some other DJ’s or producers that you admire?

Too many to mention. There are so many good ones out there.

What has been your best experience with Djing so far?

The gigs in Brazil are always the best ones. The vibe is booming in Brazil.

Do you prepare your sets?

Of course I do know what style I am playing that night, a bit more vocals or a bit deeper. But I choose while playing.

All the men want to know what you look for in a guy?

I am not looking anymore. Sorry J…

Are you dating?

Yes. With 1 person!

What do you think of DJ Z Trip getting political with his latest Mix tape that supported Obama for president of the US? Do you think more DJs should use their influence to change the world? Whether it be political or otherwise.

Well, I wouldn’t do it myself. I’m not that political enough to make strong political points. But I realize that I have some influence. If I can use this influence by supporting organizations like Unicef or Dance4Life, I definitely do that!

What has been the most embarrassing moment in your career?

That the music stopped completely in a full club. I stopped the wrong turntable.

If this happens, everybody in the room is watching you.

How has your music style changed throughout your career?

It did change. I started with commercial house music. But soon I wanted to play a more sophisticated style. I now play a mix of progressive beats with lots of influences to keep it groovy and funky.

Where is your favorite travel destination and Why?

Malaysia, I had the most wonderful time there. The best beach, sunshine, food, and spa in the world.

Coffee or Tea?

One green tea please ……

Any good films lately?

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.

Any Shout outs or plugs?

Check out my monthly radio shows @ DI.fm, Proton, Frisky and Vonyc.

http://mediaservices.myspace.com/services/media/embed.aspx/m=30953127,t=1,mt=video

For more info checkout her website:

www.myspace.com/missnine
http://www.miss-nine.com/

--

--

DJViBE
DJVIBE
Writer for

festival coverage, exclusive artist interviews, music videos, and all things BASS!