That’s a Rap! 🎤

Daniel Lin
Daniel Lin
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2017

Follow behind the scenes in this Medium Series! 📲

  • Started high school: facebook cypher
  • Fun high school virality! 76 videos between across 3 grades/classes (even after we graduated)
76+ cyphers spawned across 3 years/grades (even after we graduated, #legacy)
  • Rap became a hobby: tbdddd
  • Counting a minute, when I procrastinate, once even before a Skype interview to calm my nerves

I love the challenge of artfully balancing between:

  • 1) rhythm: tempo & tone-matching the music
  • 2) delivery: intonation & body language
  • 3) style: humor vs. lyricism vs. technical skill
  • 4) variance: between rhyme density/schemes & literary devices

…and most importantly…

  • 5) adapting to your audience: just enough for listeners to follow along & understand you!

Writing raps, to me, serves as a creative outlet, a motivational tool…

“Rivals bringing beef while we’re taking titles and mincing meat! 🍖”

…my go to if a job application ever asks for a 1-minute video about myself???

“I’m tasked to delight if you kindly pass the mic, sir! 🎤”

…but mostly just to goof around & have fun 😅

Excuse the pro-fan-ity 🙊
“DLin, we go hard in the study room!!! 😂”

I’ve written 16+ verses,

Nowadays I don’t write many verses anymore, but I have a keen appreciation for spotting clever wordplay, layered rhyme schemes, and/or thoughtful lyricism out in the wild!

--

--