I don’t need a car but I want a Tesla

Damien Le Thiec
dlet
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2017

Building a product with the future in mind

I am probably one of the least interested in cars people in the world. I have never had this fascination for engines and speed most people have. For me, a car is just a means of transport, a way to go from point A to point B as fast as possible.

And I don’t need a car. As a nomad, I am barely in my home country and would never have the possibility to use it. Moreover, I mostly live in cities and, in such an environment, it is 95% of the time faster to go by bike or public transportation than by car.

What about the remaining 5%?! I can take an Uber or rent a car. It will be much less expensive than owning my own car and far less damaging to the environment. I deeply believe that there is no future for private vehicles.

I don’t like cars, I don’t need cars and I don’t believe in the future of private cars… But I want a Tesla !!

I want a Tesla

Well, to be clear, I will probably don’t have one until few years. I don’t have the money and really no need for it at the moment. But I am so much impressed by what these people are building that I want to be part of their journey.

Tesla is the perfect example of a company that builds products with the future in mind.

Building products for the future of the planet

Producing electric vehicle is just the beginning. If the electricity you use to power your car comes from fossil fuels, it does not solve any problem. Tesla goes 2 steps further by helping individuals produce clean decentralized solar energy (solar roofs, etc.) and store it for all there needs (powerwalls)

Building products for the future of technology

Hardware does not evolve easily. This is why every Tesla ships with the hardware needed to make it autonomous. Because it is the future, and hardware needs to be ready for it. This is also why when you buy a Tesla, you don’t really buy hardware, you buy software that will improve during your car’s lifetime. Because while hardware won’t evolve, software can.

Building products for your personal future

Tesla’s cars are the safest ever built. No manner of doubt. And this is thinking about your personal future. But Tesla also thinks about your financial future. If regulators follow, in a few years, you will be able to rent your autonomous Tesla while at work or on vacation. Your car will then generates passive income. This could be a pretty good investment opportunity.

When everything fits together, everything makes sense.

Now, just take a step back. Because everything fits. By being autonomous, Tesla’s car will be even safer. By allowing autonomous rent, it will lower pollution by reducing the number of cars on the roads. By developing economic opportunities for solar power, it will foster technological progress, etc.

Everything makes perfect sense. These cars are not just cars, they are a glimpse of the future.

And this is just an introduction. Tesla is much more than this! Read Tesla’s second master plan and Tim Urban’s article. They are worth it!

--

--