Stopping my imposter syndrome by teaching myself computer science

Damien Le Thiec
dlet
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2017

How I plan to become a self-taught software engineer in 12 months

Alan Turing’s Bombe

EDIT (so you don’t have to scroll to the bottom to get the important news): I received amazing responses and we created a Discord community. We are already more than 500!! Join us here: https://jointeachyourselfcs.carrd.co/

Software engineering is a crazy deep topic. Every time I learn something new, it shows me how little I know. And I have learned and quite a lot recently:

  • 18 months ago, I was writing my first lines of code by attending Le Wagon, the most amazing bootcamp you can dream of.
  • 1 year ago, I decided to become freelancer full-time and have easily found missions since then.
  • 6 months ago, I gave my first class as a teacher for Le Wagon. An amazing experience.
  • Today, I feel quite confident with Ruby on Rails and can do some cool stuff. And I am passionate about what I do!!

There are so many things to learn, so many things I don’t understand. It is overwhelming.

But, despite my progress, I have to fight relentlessly about my imposter syndrome. Every day, I feel like a fraud, a feeling I obviously don’t like. There are so many things to learn, so many things I don’t understand. It is overwhelming.

It is especially true as a bootcamp graduate. I miss the computer science foundations that often allow you to grasps new tech concepts quicker and deeper. And it is too late to learn now, right?!

Is it really?! I don’t think so.

It is never too late to learn. Never too late to get things right.

I gave myself a goal for 2018: I will stop my imposter syndrome by teaching myself computer science.

I really believe in the value of getting the right learning foundations.

1 Year to Teach Myself Computer Science

In 2018, I will follow Teach Yourself CS the curriculum built by the great folks of Bradfield School of Computer Science. It gathers amazing and mostly free resources about 9 topics (from Programming to Distributed Systems) and gives you a clear learning path.

Starting January 1, 2018, I will dedicate 20 hours per week to teaching myself CS. I have 12 months to go through 9 topics.

To give me the best chances to succeed, I want to stay accountable. At the end of every topic (more or less every month), I will write a post about my learnings. I hope it will be useful to others.

Subscribe to this publication to get noticed!

Are you up for the challenge? Do you want to learn Computer Science in 2018 too?

--

--