Stronger Than Ever: Lady Shuttlers come back resilient this UAAP S86

Carmela Angeles
DLSU Sports
Published in
4 min readOct 31, 2023

The UAAP Season 85 was a challenging one for the Lady Shuttlers. Following two years of online training and a sudden return to in-person training just three months prior to the start of the games, they fell short of a podium finish. The team also had to cope with the mid-season absence of three players due to unfortunate circumstances, which affected their mental toughness.

Despite this rough patch, Lady Shuttlers Co-Captain Palma Cruz views this as a valuable learning experience for the team. She remarked, “I learned because of that though, that preparation is very important, as well as the mindset one is in. Moving forward, I believe that our team is stronger and better with daily training, our bond as a team has become stronger and I believe that we understand each other more.”

Winner’s Mindset

Undoubtedly, the team’s goal is to attain a podium finish this season, with their ultimate aspiration being the gold medal. “My biggest goal for myself, it’s to win all my games so I may contribute to the team in whatever way I can,” Cruz tells us about her personal goal for this season, given that badminton is a team event in the UAAP. “…hopefully I can win all my games that I’m going to play, or at least those that matter most.

In preparation for S86, the Lady Shuttlers have dedicated time in conducting team sessions with their sports psychologist to enhance their mental readiness. They understand the significance of mindset in sports, and this aligns with their focus for the upcoming season, as Cruz highlights the importance of control, consistency, and strategy. The preparation undertaken by the team not only strengthens their physical prowess through training but also fortifies their mental resilience.

When times get hard for the team, they rely on each other and their coaches for strength to carry on.

“Many times I’ve considered succumbing to the pressure and just giving up. My teammates and coaches, however, never left me. I am thankful that they are very patient and understanding of me, and I wouldn’t have made it to where I am now without them,” co-captain Cruz speaks of the pressure she feels on and off the court as she is in her last year of college. “…I have gone through a lot of setbacks that kept me down for some time. I have learned, however, that I should not cling to them, but rather use them as motivation to move forward and persevere more.”

Despite all the pressure, the Lady Shuttlers are ready to put on their best show for everyone who believes in them and puts their trust in their skills.

Looking Back

With most of the team being Cruz’s batchmates who are also seniors, she recalls her fondest memories of being part of the team. “My most memorable moment as of now would be during my rookie year when I think, we overachieved. We were not expecting to even be on the podium at the end of the season, but we ended up being the runners-up,” the Lady Shuttlers’ co-captain says.

Cruz also recalls her time as a rookie in UAAP Season 82 when they were up against rival Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) in the finals. The Green and White women’s badminton team went up a podium spot from third in Season 81 to the runners-up in Season 82.

The legacy of former Lady Shuttlers carries on to the current players, inspiring them and leaving them with lessons helpful in their journey in the UAAP. Cruz recalls how all throughout her years in college, she had amazing seniors who guided and helped shape her into the player and person she is now. She also remembers how her former teammates and captains never stopped believing in them.

With this, she hopes to play the same role for her team, “So with me now being the team captain of this season, I’ll make sure to keep the fire burning within us. I’ll strive to keep the hope alive even in dark times, so we can face every opponent with determination in our eyes.

Forward With Determination

The team competing in this season’s games is a blend of seasoned veterans, playing their final year, and talented rookies who all aim to bring grit and determination to the court, which are the key factors that can help them achieve their goal in Season 86. The rookies on the team are also promising, with the potential to become valuable role players for the Lady Shuttlers this season.

What I look forward to the most is watching my teammates play with passion and fire, and with these, I hope that the wins would come as well.”

The DLSU Lady Shuttlers hope that the Lasallian community can find the time to support them in their UAAP Season 86 journey that began last weekend at the Centro Atletico Badminton Center in Quezon City.

Their remaining first-round schedule is as follows:

DLSU vs. ADMU — November 4, 1PM

DLSU vs. UP — November 5, 1PM

DLSU vs. UST — November 8, 1PM

--

--