I Wait

Scene of the arrival hall at the Bengaluru’s Kempegowda International Airport looking towards the exit doors with people’s backs towards me. In the foreground there are two womxn talking to each other and one couple next to them with a boy sitting on a low platform encircling some plants.

I wait
and I keep waiting.

For the longest time
I wished it would
just end.
Like wishing
would drag the time
closer to me
and I may be liberated.

But i have never known
what is liberation.
I have just been running.
But like a treadmill
the ground beneath me
kept slipping
while I kept looking straight
and thinking i couldn’t
take it anymore.
When would it end!

I have been living
a life with fake milestones.
No doubt there was
no passion.
No doubt the wait
was frustrating.

Is the wait over now?
Definitely not!
But I have learnt
along the way
to embrace the wait.
To allow myself
to trace every moment
on a piece of paper
and let it sail
like a paper boat
carrying some secret message
from me
to me.
To find me
somewhere in my journey,
to find me.

--

--

Dwarka Nath Sinha
dwarkanathsinha-notes

Brand and communication designer, illustrator, wannabe hand letterer+traveller+storyteller | www.dwarkanathsinha.com