I Waited

Dwarka Nath Sinha
dwarkanathsinha-notes
1 min readFeb 7, 2022
Illustration of a tree that stands outside my house. Its trunk is slightly twisted and it looks dry now in winter. The back of a car is visible in the frame on the left and an electric pole on the right.

I have been standing here
through the seasons
Even before you arrived
You pass by every now and then
but never wait a moment
look for a moment

I have shed my leaves
so you can hear my call
and look up

I have blossomed and
knocked on your window
but you look through me
towards the sky

I too love the sky
she is my one true love
I throw my arms at
everyday and every night

There is a wall
between us everyday
But today we finally meet
in this evening breeze
when I am at my scruffiest
But that is also me
with all my marks and
broken limbs

I shall wait to see you again
like I wait for each day
like I wait for the sun to rise
and to set and to rise again
In this cycle of life,
affirmation is all we seek
from each other.

--

--

Dwarka Nath Sinha
dwarkanathsinha-notes

Brand and communication designer, illustrator, wannabe hand letterer+traveller+storyteller | www.dwarkanathsinha.com