They don’t see me

Illustration showing the view of someone stuck under the rubble looking up with a bright orange light of a missile passing overhead.

It’s too dark
I can’t see

This weight of the building
Is weighing down on me

Is that the Sun!
Am I dead already?
No, that’s just another bomb

They can’t see me
They can’t hear me
from under the rubble
of Colonialism

It’s been so many years
they didn’t see me here

Now this weight
is crushing my hope
The last threads
of my breath

They have given up on me
They don’t see me
They don’t hear me

I’ve been lying here
for so long
Hungry and thirsty
to live
But this weight
is killing me
The weight
of their hatred and
the indifference
of the world.

It’s completely dark now
I can’t see myself
But you don’t give up on me now.

--

--

Dwarka Nath Sinha
dwarkanathsinha-notes

Brand and communication designer, illustrator, wannabe hand letterer+traveller+storyteller | www.dwarkanathsinha.com