Data-Driven Leader — Lalit Thakur, CDO at ATD — DNX EAB Blog Series

DNX Ventures
DNX Ventures Blog
Published in
5 min readNov 21, 2022

By Yoshimi Nomura | Director of Growth and Partnerships

Our third Executive Advisory Board (EAB) interview is with Lalit Thakur, CDO at American Tire Distributors. Lalit has been a major contributor to the DNX EAB, bringing his passion and expertise in data from various industries.

His previous experience includes over two years as Vice President, Data & Analytics at Novant Health, two years as Vice President & Chief of Data at Solera and eight years at healthcare firm Premier, Inc. developing a data management practice to support cloud-based solutions and e-commerce.

Tell us about how you got to where you are.

I started my journey in technology in the application development space, doing web-based application development in the manufacturing and specialty chemical domain. While in this role, I kept building more and more data analytics products, and at some point, I completely transitioned into the big data space. I became passionate about this area because I find it satisfying to deliver business value while providing analytics and insights along the way.

I’ve worked in many different verticals including manufacturing, specialty chemicals, healthcare supply chain, healthcare clinical, automobile, and now in distribution at American Tire Distributors (ATD). I’ve been with ATD for over three years, leading the data and analytics space as the Chief Data Officer. Although business models are different across industries, data largely operates the same and I’ve been able to apply learnings from my wide experience across industries to my current role at ATD.

I like that ATD is not just a distribution company; we are a solutions provider. An example is our journey in the sustainability space where there is a lot of great work being done. Here, we think about the ecosystem and how we are going to make a difference across the entire value chain. From manufacturing, importing, and distribution, ATD is considering how it can reduce waste throughout the entire system.

What made you decide to be on the DNX Ventures Executive Advisory Board?

I worked with Eva Nahari from DNX in the past as a part of the Cloudera Customer Advisory Board and she introduced me to the DNX EAB. When I look at DNX and what its focus is: B2B, sustainable and disruptive technologies, I instantly knew it aligned with my goals. In this advisory role, I’m not only listening and learning, but I am also thinking about how I can facilitate collaboration between the startups and ATD because we are a very forward-looking company.

For example, we have been talking with multiple startups to see if there are any synergies. These conversations are great because at the very least there are conversations and learnings both ways. Those connections are aspects of being part of the DNX EAB that I enjoy.

How has ESG and the rise of regulations impacted your work at ATD?

I am very passionate about sustainability. Climate change is a human problem and we cannot afford to bury our heads in the sand right now and pretend it’s not happening. ATD actually started this journey before others in the industry, about two years ago, trying to make a difference across the value chain. ATD talked with our partners as well as looked internally, setting the goal to reduce our carbon footprint by 25% by 2030. As we design solutions at ATD, we’re actively looking at several options including converting to EVs, LED lighting, warehouse automation and more. The good news is our leadership at ATD is personally driving this and are willing to invest.

One innovation example is dynamic routing which optimizes routing and fleet usage, affecting the bottom line and the environment. Another example of our creative way of thinking and supporting ESG is tire recycling. Across the U.S., there are about 290 million tires replaced annually. Large amounts of used tires either get burned, buried, or recycled. ATD is now getting into the tire recycling business, and thinking about how to impact our bottom line, how to impact the environment, and how to impact our carbon footprint.

What are your thoughts on working with startup founders?

Getting started can be intimidating. People who have the drive to be a one-person army to create something new impress me. These individuals stick their necks out and are passionate about moving this forward. I don’t know if I could do it, but I am inspired by them.

As I grow into this role, I think there’s going to be more opportunities for me to draw lessons as well as share them. Because the startup companies may or may not have gone through all of the cycles we go through and some of those cycles can be unpredictable. Just how do businesses shape and reshape their strategies? I think that’s something that we as an advisory board can share with startups so that they can not only react but also build those resiliencies into their products and services.

What is your favorite pastime and how do you spend time outside of work?

I was based in the New York and Connecticut area for a long time. We moved to Charlotte, North Carolina and we’ve been in Charlotte for quite a while now. I have two sons — one in college and one in high school. In my free time, I read books. I enjoy those that teach me how to think, how to deliver, and how to be laser-focused like Extreme Ownership and Hit Refresh.

One of DNX’s significant value adds and differentiators is our ability to accelerate customer development for our portfolio companies. Over the last decade, DNX has built an extensive network of over 60 corporate partners and individual advisors. The DNX EAB, an essential part of this network, is a group of serial entrepreneurs and highly valued and capable enterprise executives with rich industry and technical backgrounds. As part of their engagement with DNX, the EAB members help guide DNX’s portfolio companies to grow their businesses in various ways.

--

--