Welcoming Emma Chiu as Senior Finance Associate

DNX Ventures
DNX Ventures Blog
Published in
2 min readJul 29, 2022

Our Finance Team is growing, and we’re welcoming the newest member of the DNX US team: Emma Chiu.

A certified public accountant, Emma joins us as a Senior Finance Associate. She will manage several funds’ accounting and finance reporting and oversee the tax preparation process.

We asked Emma about her background and what attracted her to join DNX.

“I have a varied background in accounting, finance, and tax, and a professional career spanning three different countries — Taiwan, Japan, and the US., with experience in the manufacturing industry, financial planning and analysis for a global retailer, and public accounting specializing in international tax.

My career started in venture capital in Taiwan. I was responsible for helping a startup promote an online educational tool with universities and local governments in Taiwan and Japan. I worked with a team of engineers from MIT and UC Berkeley. The experience of working on a forward-looking project with a group of smart and passionate people was unforgettable.

After I took a leap and moved away from my home to Japan, I worked at much larger companies in Tokyo. However, I still longed for that startup environment and volunteered to help co-host an event connecting Taiwanese startups with professionals in Tokyo. It is why I am thrilled to work for DNX Ventures, which has a strong network internationally.

I enjoy challenges and always try to push myself out of my comfort zone. DNX has a small team, and I believe we need to wear many hats on the job. I hope to build a strong partnership not only with internal stakeholders, but also provide professional services and build trusted relationships with external stakeholders, i.e., limited partners, potential investors, and portfolio companies.

These days during my free time, I enjoy using Peloton workout classes to exercise. I was never a runner before, but the accompanying audio from the coaches in the app provides many different running exercises and it has slowly become a routine of my life and a way to relax. I also like to explore San Diego since I’ve only lived here for about two years, including during lockdown. My favorite part of the city is Del Mar. I like to go there for the beautiful sunsets.”

--

--