What Is The Best State To Do My Best Work?

Peak State | Do Breakthrough

DO Lectures
DO Breakthrough
2 min readJun 26, 2018

--

Do Breakthrough. Photo by Simon Edwards.

To do your best work, we need to be in a peak state. The more we are in peak state, the more prepared we are to deliver our best work. So, we need to ask the question, when do I do my best work? Where? But, most importantly, emotionally, what is my best state to do my best work?

The good thing is you can design this so it happens more regularly. For example, if you know you do your best work after an hour’s run, you know what to do. If it is listening to your favourite music on repeat, then do that. If it’s early evening, after a cold beer, then do that. But you can develop a practice to get you to that state each day. The best time to shape your day is the morning.

Develop a morning ritual.

Take 20 minutes to prepare yourself for the day ahead.

1, What am I grateful for?

2, What am I thankful for?

3, I then imagine how I feel if I achieve my goal. I write the acceptance speech for a piece of work I am putting my effort into. The imagination is a powerful tool. If you can convince yourself you are about to do your best work, your mind will be prepared for it.

4, Then I do three sprints just to get the old ticker going.

5, Then I have some bullet coffee, and then I fly to work.

Our Next Do Breakthrough Seminars.

Do Breakthrough. One-Day Seminar. London. Oct 4th, 2018.
Do Breakthrough. Three-Day Seminar. Campovida, USA. Fall 2018.

Sign Up To Our Weekly Newsletter.

Our free newsletter seeks to inspire you each week. It has become very well-read and loved for that reason. Try it for a week and see if it is worth your time. If not, it’s one click to unsubscribe.

--

--