If you don’t start it now, you will regret it later!

“The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing”

-Walt Disney

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Before I started writing I would sit and read, and think, and watch a YouTube video, and sit and read, and listen to a podcast and I would the sit and read again…it became a repeated cycle of me constantly listening to motivational videos or reading motivational materials that I was not working on my own dream.

To be honest, I didn’t know where to start. How do I start this online business that I really want to work on? Where do I find the targeted audience that will follow my dream? What business do I really want to start right now?

I was in my 30’s and in a professional health career but I was not happy. Deep down in my heart, I knew that I was supposed to help people in a different way. I wanted clarity and guidance on how I could start this dream of having my own business online but seriously I did not know how to do it.

However, I was nowhere close to achieving my dream of starting a business because I had not started anything.

Instead, all my time was spent on constantly buying motivational, online classes, prosperity books, watching video and podcasts and forever telling myself that one day I would start my own online business.

So, what was the secret to starting my own online business?

‘Action’

Action to start on writing content.

Action to start an Instagram page.

Action to create creative visual posts.

It took the action of me just starting. Picking up that pen and paper and start writing. Not thinking about whether the content I was creating was perfect or not but decided right there and then that I would learn along the way.

So here I am, creating this blog for you as I write.

And you can too.

Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

Here are Three Ways to help you on your journey of taking action.

1. Planning

Keep a notebook and plan your day every night before you go to bed. It only takes 5 minutes of your time to write down what you are going to do the next day and this simple act will help you to get closer to your goal. By planning your day before bed, your subconscious mind will automatically register the most important tasks that you need to have done tomorrow.

Remember the 80/20 rule.

20% of your effort on importing 10 products of your website or writing 500-word blog will yield 80% of results.

But in order to achieve that, you need to plan your day for tomorrow and that takes less than 5 minutes.

2. Wake up early the next morning

One of the best productivity hacks is waking up early the next day. The most successful people are usually early risers because they say that at that time of the morning the brain is usually more alert and there is more clarity on what they’re going to do next.

Unfortunately, many of us have a hard time of waking up an hour or two earlier, and our bodies have not adapted to getting out of that sleep mode fast.

One of the things you can do to help your brain wake up to drink a full glass of water. Drinking water as soon as you wake up will quickly rehydrate the body and wake the brain up into productive mode.

Or another tip you can do to wake you up the next day is to command the brain before you go to sleep to wake up at a certain time the next day. The brain is a very powerful organ and it will listen to your command.

3. Don’t talk about doing your task to anyone the next day

What happens is that if you talk to your colleague or friend about whatever task you are supposed to be working on, you will psychologically feel good about the task that you haven’t started yet and your brain will automatically think you have already done it.

For most people that have a negative impact on their bodies because now that they feel like they have already done the task, they will not feel like implement it when it is time to do it.

I was in constant bragging mode of telling my friends about the website I was going to start or the article I was going to write, but when I got home, I never started it.

So, the best way to cease that habit, I said nothing until the task was actually done.

Until you get your mindset to a state of producing the work even after you have spoken or told someone about it, it is best my friend to keep it to yourself.

“Ideas have a short shelf life. You must act on them before the expiration date.”

-John.C.Maxwell.

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

If you liked this post, please do comment….the author would love to hear your thoughts. :)

--

--

Sharon Jean-Louis
The One Million Dollar experiment !

I aim to be the best I can be, deliver content that matters to me and provide value to others.