My Internship Experience @DocOn in Data

Harsh Mehta
Docon
Published in
4 min readJul 12, 2018

This summer I had the opportunity to intern at DocOn Technologies as a Data Analyst Intern.

I applied through LinkedIn by sending a personalised message to the HR and he responded back. What followed were a series of interviews starting from HR up to Technical.

Needless to say I was elated on being offered an internship at last. I knew I’d be in for a great learning experience.

In short, while finding the right fit can be a struggle, I was lucky. DocOn turned out to be the perfect company for me.

About DocOn

DocOn provides products that enable doctors to write e-prescriptions and maintain comprehensive digital records for their patients. No more relying on pen and paper!

Initial Days

From the first day of my internship, I was intrigued by the family culture here, and I felt so welcomed.Then, over the first week, I was made familiar with the app that was currently on the App Store and its various other technicalities, My mentor was able to teach me everything I needed to know about the actual work I would be doing for the summer.

I was given the task of revamping from scratch two essential things that we needed to visualise properly and needed a structured data in a readable format with minimum amount of lag time

Operation Analytics

Herein the task was related mainly to working on Google Sheets and Google API Scripts.
The goal was to get all data in a single sheet wherein it would be easy for the sales and operation guys on tracking how the users (doctors) were performing and whether or not they were actively using the app.Moreover I needed to put a lot of filters and sorts so that it would be easy to categorise doctors based on their region, sign up date and activation contact for the concerned guys.

I had to also automatically trigger emails to the concerned teams so that they get a daily reminder about the users they need to focus on or who were on the verge on dropping.The logic to identify the dropping users was created using the basic principles of statistics along with a lot of trial and errors so that the bucket remains small.
The automatic triggers were done with the help of Google Scripts API.

Product Analytics

My second project was to implement product analytics inside the company which was earlier not given attention to.

  1. Identifying the KPIs to track
    First of all we identified our problem statement i.e. what all metrics we needed to measure to get proper understanding of our user and his journey while using our app.
  2. Researching Tools and Comparing Them
    Then we needed a right tool to implement, we did a lot of research by comparing all the tools present in the market and which tools would properly cater to our needs so that we could properly track the required KPI Metrics and get a proper visualisation of our user journey.
    After a lot of research we zeroed into Segment.io
    The main reason for choosing Segment.io was that we were not yet clear what would be our future needs or if we may have missed some important metrics.So as a safe option we decided to go with Segment.io as it helps to integrate data into lot of other different product analytics tools easily with its inbuilt APIs.
  3. Integrating the code
    After zeroing into a tool we started integrating the code with our app so that we could test whether Segment.io is correctly tracking our events or not.After that we integrated Segment with Mixpanel and Amplitude along with our SQL Database.
Snippet of Mixpanel
Snippet of Amplitude

Finally we had successfully implemented a proper Product Analytics tool to measure our KPIs and get a proper visualisation of our user journey.

Apart from that I was also given the task to create some dashboards on Metabase for visualisation of current metrics that were required.

For this I had to create some custom queries of MongoDB for grouping and unwinding the JSON.

I felt that this internship provided a great platform for me to gain deeper insights into the corporate side of analytics while I was tackling with real life business problems that needed attention on a day to day basis.I feel that it was an enriching experience to intern at DocOn as I got learn a lot about technical knowledge and gain valuable hands on experience.

--

--