All the Times I Narrowly Escaped the Nickname “The Humpster”

Come to think of it, The Humpster might not be that bad of a name after all.

Lindsay Rae Brown
Doctor Funny
Published in
5 min readJun 19, 2021

--

I recently shared a story about the woes of growing up with a nickname like “The Hempster.”

It was a fun article to write not only because it provided some mad jokes that I was pretty proud of, but also because I had some superb commentary on the piece from readers.

In the story, I revealed that on lonely nights, as a teen, I would dry hump my life-sized stuffed bear, pretending he was a real-life boy.

I honestly don’t know why I tell you guys these things; I have no filter, okay.

My lovely and hilarious pal Erik Burger, in a moment of pure genius, commented, “You did avoid someone discovering your relationship with your stuffy bear and being called ‘The Humpster.’ A win in my book.”

Boy, did that ever get the wheels turning in the old brain.

Also, please check out Erik’s work, he’s not only great at comments, he’s a wonderful and talented writer as well. You certainly won’t be disappointed!

--

--