Color in the hot seat

Howard Stern’s Exit Interview with Very Peri, 2022’s Pantone Color of the Year

As it begins its journey to discover its hex code

Cam Martin
Doctor Funny
Published in
4 min readDec 28, 2022

--

Was 2022’s Pantone Color of the Year misunderstand or (more likely) hot garbage?
Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

Howard Stern: Today’s guest is 2022’s Pantone Color of the Year, an interview I’ve been looking forward to nearly as much as my Bruce Springsteen interview.

Robin Quivers: Oh, Howard.

HS: Robin, I see you wore that color shirt as a show of solidarity.

RQ: Because I knew you wouldn’t.

HS: Yeah, let’s be honest, that half-cocked purple looks better on you than it would on me.

RQ: All black people look good in purple.

HS: Hey, now. Anyway, it’s Very Peri in the studio today. It was selected of course by the venerable Pantone Institute, whose yearly color selection influences everything from fashion to interior design — including my wife’s choice of bed sheets, which is why I really wanted to interview this sorry excuse for a color. This is how the Pantone Institute described it last December: “Displaying a carefree confidence and a daring curiosity that…

--

--

Cam Martin
Doctor Funny

Has written for The New York Times, ESPN.com, The Atlantic, Yahoo! Sports, CBS Sports, and NBC New York.