FLOYD IS KEEPING US UPDATED

I Let My Dog Take Over My Nextdoor Postings

Floyd wants you to know what is happening on YOUR street

CJ Sterling
Doctor Funny
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Floyd wants you to know what is happening on YOUR street. Photo by Ludovic Migneault on Unsplash

Okay, I admit it. I used to love to scroll the Nextdoor app and engage with my neighbors. The soap opera vibe was too hard to resist.

If you don’t know, Nextdoor is the social media platform where your neighbors can share news they think is important, ask for help finding their lost cats, report vandalism, porch theft and post “suspicious characters” caught on their ring camera.

I made a lot of friends on Nextdoor, mostly virtual, but it was good, for the most part. I can humbly say I improved the general vibe in our extended Nextdoor community.

But I began to get tired of it. Same old, same old, blah blah blah, yackety schmakety. I was slowly losing interest, but I didn’t want to abandon my virtual neighborhood friends. It was a dilemma.

Then I got a brilliant inspiration. I would let my dog Floyd post for me. And it’s working just fine. So far, nobody has noticed the change.

Floyd’s most recent posts:

“Hey, I heard a noise. Did anyone hear that? What was that?”

--

--

CJ Sterling
Doctor Funny

Writer, journalist. Commentary: Washington Post, Economist, Daily Beast, New York Times, Seattle Times, Crosscut, The Stranger. 22.5 million views, Quora.