NATIONAL EMBARRASSING MEDICAL MOMENTS MONTH

Not a Lucky Break

My pinkie finger is my least favorite

Kristine Laco
Doctor Funny
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2022

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya: https://www.pexels.com/photo/cracked-screen-of-a-smartphone-11921157/

It was a dark and stormy night.

Except it wasn’t.

It was a bright, sunlit day. I could see for miles when it happened. We were touring a new campus, and my daughter was deciding between many university options. The world was waiting for her and she was trying to see herself spending the next four years at each new home of learning.

On this day, the old stone buildings, forested walks, new stadium, and even newer dorm rooms were appealing. The proximity to the family home made me happy too. I was picturing my girl — still so young but so ready to be free of us.

She looked happy walking around. Like this might be her place.

Before me was an expanse of lawn, people on bikes, laughing groups of twenty-somethings, and a Canadian flag gently waving in the sporadic breeze.

oh, fuck, jesus, what the hell, NOOOO!

That was a step, wasn’t it?

To the best of my recollection, the fall went something like this. I put one foot in front of the other imagining the hard ground was level even though my right hand was on a railing.

--

--

Kristine Laco
Doctor Funny

My middle finger is my favorite. Satire is my jam. Don’t follow if Laco-intolerant. BE COOL--SUBSCRIBE TO MY NEWSLETTER eepurl.com/hqpXiv