WHY I LOVE WRITING

The Career That Writes Itself

It’s Practically a Vacation!

Kyle Mann
Doctor Funny
Published in
6 min readMar 30, 2023

--

Me, casually writing a masterpiece for all of my adoring fans.
Just another day in the life of a writer. ©Kyle Mann via Canva.com

Ever wake up on a bright, sunny morning and think, “Gee, I wish I had a job where I could sit at home all day, in my pajamas, drinking coffee and typing on a keyboard?”

If so, I have great news for you! Writing is clearly the easiest job in the world. It’s a piece of cake. A walk in the park!

As a writer, all you need to do is type words on a screen, and voilà! You’re a literary genius.

What? Don’t believe me? Allow me, then, to demonstrate the sheer simplicity of being a writer.

1. Inspiration: It’s Everywhere!

Who said finding inspiration was difficult? As a writer, you have the extraordinary gift of being inspired by absolutely anything.

Staring at a blank wall for 5 hours? That’s an existential novel right there. Spilled coffee on your laptop? A thrilling mystery involving a caffeine-addicted detective, obviously.

The ideas are constantly pouring in, so you won’t have to worry about writer’s block ever again!

2. Research: A Breeze!

Research? Pfft! Who needs it? As a writer, you don’t need to spend countless hours reviewing…

--

--