They’re not zombies: they’re real!

Three Creatures That Eat Your Brain

Even when you’re not running for President or filing for divorce

Jan M Flynn
Doctor Funny
Published in
7 min readMay 14, 2024

--

Relax, it’s just me in here. Image by 愚木混株 Cdd20 from Pixabay

Brain parasites in the news

I mean, overexposure to the 24/7 news cycle could chew holes in your brain anytime. But now there’s the recent disclosure by presidential candidate, vehement anti-vaxxer, and all-time-embarrassing-uncle, RFK Jr. , that doctors found a worm in his brain.

He said the worm died after eating a portion of his brain. That’s such an obvious straight line I refuse to take the bait.

Unlike the worm.

But not to worry! The candidate maintains that he’s in perfect physical and mental health now. The worm thing was years ago, after all. So was his mercury poisoning, which happened around the same time. As reported by the New York Times, Mr. K Jr chalked it up to an overfondness for tuna sandwiches.

“I loved tuna fish sandwiches,” he said. “I ate them all the time.”

Like you, I have questions

Let’s start with the least disturbing:

Tuna sandwiches, really?

--

--

Jan M Flynn
Doctor Funny

Writer & educator. The Startup, Writing Cooperative, P.S. I Love You, The Ascent, more. Award-winning short fiction. Visit me at www.JanMFlynn.net.