GENERATION GAFFE

When did “No Problem” replace “You’re Welcome”?

Dude, I’m telling not asking!

Mark Eric Cohen
Doctor Funny

--

“No problem Dude.”Photo by Alan Bowman on Unsplash

3:48 pm: Grocery checkout line:

OM (Older Man): “Thank you.”

YMC (Younger Man Cashier): “No problem.”

OM: “Excuse me, what did you say?”

YMC: “No problem.”

OM: “That’s what I thought you said. I think you meant to say, ‘You’re Welcome.’”

YMC: “What does ‘You’re Welcome mean?”

OM: “It’s a common courtesy that anyone over the age of 40 generally says when a person expresses gratitude for a job well done.”

YMC: “That’s what ‘No Problem’ means.”

OM: “No, that’s not what ‘No Problem’ means. ‘No Problem’ means it wasn’t difficult for you to do.”

YMC: “I’m not sure I understand the difference?”

OM: “When you say ‘You’re Welcome,’ you’re telling the person that said ‘Thank You’ that you appreciate them. When you answer ‘No Problem’, you’re saying it wasn’t a problem for you to do.”

YMC: “Hmmm, so like when I say ‘You’re Welcome’, I’m replying that I appreciate you noticing I did a good job?”

OM: “Yes!”

YMC: “And when I say ‘No Problem,’ it’s like I’m saying I did something for you, regardless of whether it was something I was supposed to do for you, especially when I’m getting paid to do it?”

OM: “Yes!”

YMC: “ And it loses the courtesy.”

OM: “Yes, by George, I think he’s got it!”

YMC: “Dude, that’s some old ass-person shit you just said.”

OM: “ I’ll give you that. But you can’t call me Dude if you hardly know me. Also that old ass -person shit language, never mind, I only came into the store to pick up some milk, not parent you.”

YMC: “That’s cool. I appreciate your lessons, ‘Bro’. Thank you!”

OM: “You’re Welcome.”

YMC: “Is ‘Bro’ better?”

OM: “It is not.”

YMC: “Will you come back tomorrow, get some eggs and teach me more?”

OM: “Sure, ‘No Problem’.”

YMC: “By George, I think I’ve got it! Oh, right, that’s from Dr. Dolittle, isn’t it?”

OM: “It is not.”

Thank you Editor Kristine Laco for fiddling with me and my words.

--

--

Mark Eric Cohen
Doctor Funny

Mark Eric Cohen is an American writer of short humorous-but sometimes just sad fiction. In a previous incarnation he was M.e. Cohen, a political cartoonist.