Medium Facts

Why People Don’t Open the Article Links You Share

A comprehensive research

Srini
Doctor Funny
Published in
6 min readSep 20, 2023

--

The girl who shared her article link with her therapist six hours ago| Photo by Antoni Shkraba from Pexels

My American best friend, Evelyn, has not talked to me or texted me back for the last nine months. Not because we had any spat or major disagreement over something. But because the last thing I did was send her the link to one of my articles.

Did she even open the article? Did she read it? Did something I wrote offend her so bad she stopped talking to me?

Your guess is as good as mine. I had to know. So I’ve gone to great lengths to understand it. I’m innately a science guy. In other words, I don’t mess around. I’ve conducted several experiments on this and formed a few hypotheses.

It’s like the Medium legend Tim Denning once famously said:

“I have done all the research so you don’t have to.”

Evelyn is from Rhode Island. At first, I thought maybe all people from Rhode Island were “ghosters” (people who ghost you courageously).

Small sample size? Sure, it could use some generalization.

I sent the same article link to another close friend of mine from California. Four months have gone by without any response from her either. Maybe it’s a coincidence.

--

--