Bernie in Birmingham

Samantha Plunk
Documenting the Blues
2 min readJan 19, 2016
(Birmingham Future to Believe In Rally with Bernie Sanders: Gary Likely, Hannah McGaha, and Bernie Sanders)

Despite exploring the Steel City rather than the Land of the Blues, I was immersed into a passionate environment. Yesterday evening, thousands of people, a maelstrom of red and blue, assembled at the Historic Boutwell Memorial Auditorium in Birmingham, Alabama to support Senator Bernie Sanders and his presidential campaign. Politicians and photographers swam through the crowds, briefly acquainting themselves with people standing in line.

While standing in line, synchronizing my shivers with strangers, I met Gary Likely and Hannah McGaha, two students from Troy University. Within a two hour frame, we laughed with one another, devoured double stuffed Oreos, and shared some body heat.

At the beginning of the event, a couple of orators, including Sanders, spoke in remembrance of Martin Luther King Jr. and his efforts to terminate systematic inequality and to promote the rights of all individuals. Following the respects paid to King, Sanders addressed his concerns on current issues, such as the price of college tuition, the incarceration rates in America, and the causes and effects of poverty.

With presidential elections approaching, I decided that attending this rally would be an excellent opportunity to expand my knowledge of Sanders and his vision for America, both today and tomorrow. My goal for this trip was to engage with at least one stranger and to develop a clearer understanding of this candidate’s beliefs, as well as my own. Despite lacking any political inclination, I am interested in the interconnectivity of our world; it is important to value individuals who are inclusive, independent, and honest. I hope to remember the Historic Boutwell Memorial Auditorium as the place I shared oxygen with the president.

--

--