Defining “the Blues”

Najawon Wilson
Documenting the Blues
1 min readJan 14, 2016
DMI Day featuring the Fig Newtons.

My definition of “the Blues” is that it has a lot to do with soul or spiritual correlation between a person and music along with “the Blues” being a form of musical art that artists use to express themselves in ways they can not directly. To me “the Blues” is a creative way for those that create it to share with others their form of personality or the moods in which they are in most of the time but through their music. With “the Blues”, the lyrics to the song are not the only thing that defines the expression that is being created but it lies within the sound that comes from the instrument(s) that is being used at the time. To my acknowledgment of “the Blues” that is my definition for now which I know it will change either for better or for worst.

--

--