Exploring the MS Delta

Najawon Wilson
Documenting the Blues
1 min readJan 19, 2016

I did research on places around the Mississippi Delta to see places that I have not been and I came across Airport Grocery that was right in town that I found quite interesting from times of just passing it. Also, I discovered while I was there that this was the restaurant that serves hot tamales for the most part along with other kinds of food as well. I found out that it was said that Jonathan Vance’s grandfather had bought the recipe from my cousin, Joe Pope, so he could keep the Pope tradition running. I chose Airport Grocery because I never been inside of it yet I thought it would be good timing to see what I was missing out on because I always passed it and finally being there for my first time I realized that my cousin had a big contribution to it. In closing remarks, that was a defining moment to be in a historical place that one of my family members was apart of and I did not have the acknowledgment of it until I actually visited so I learned something new that caught me by surprise but definitely in a good way.

--

--