Sunshine 🌞 Sweatt
Documenting the Blues
2 min readJan 18, 2016

--

My best friend posing outside of the Jim Henson Museum in Leland, Mississippi

Go explore this labyrinth we call life…hidden gems in the Mississippi Delta

In homage to David Bowie I decided to go to the Jim Henson museum in Leland, Mississippi which is also Jim’s hometown. As a child The Dark Crystal, Sesame Street, Fraggle Rock and especially Labyrinth were some of my absolute favorites. They kept me actively engaged and astonished by the visual effects and puppetry. Kermit, Beaker and Gonzo were three of my favorites. Upon arrival the first word that came to mind was quaint. It was a small wood building situated just behind Deer Creek, nothing about it was outstanding. Their was a hand painted pumpkin outside and a glass bottle tree right next to a sign on the door that read, “frog parking only, all others will be toad.” I thought that was cute. We were greeted by a very nice curator. Having been a public school teacher in the near by district for 31 years, she was both, informative and helpful. She knew Mr. Henson’s story oh too well. The sound in the atmosphere was nostalgic. It instantly took me back to my childhood. I can honestly say I was giddy. The song that was sensationalizing my childhood memories was “Rainbow Connection” from The Muppet Movie. The curator informed use that it reached No. 25 on the Billboard Hot 100 in November 1970 and it remained in the top 40 for over 7 weeks. It was written by Paul Williams and sang by Jim as Kermit. All I can say is that it is still quit catchy. I still remembered most of the words. Just hearing it made me feel a childlike carefreeness. A sense that everything would be alright. The museum was only three rooms yet often, good things come in small packages. These rooms were filled with numerous paraphernalia, memorabilia, newspaper clippings, pictures, and the history of Jim’s life and creative achievements. There were many donated items, a life sized Kermit the frog, a Muppet inspired Christmas tree, a gift shop and a sign in registry. There were pictures of the many tourist that had visited from countries that I couldn’t even pronounce. On a small table in the center of the room were several photo albums with thank you letters and drawings from optimistic children. The Jim Henson Museum is an excellent place to go and learn more about Jim Henson and his world of Muppets and to take your family for a free outing. I would recommend this museum to all the fantastical people that have ever wondered, “why are there so many songs about rainbows and what’s on the other side…” two thumbs up.

--

--

Sunshine 🌞 Sweatt
Documenting the Blues

I am an Art Education major at Delta State University, a table games supervisor, and siSTAR. I am on an incredible mission to become who God wants me to be.