Mississippi Blues ( Birthplace of America’s Music)

RJ Fitzpatrick
Documenting the Blues
2 min readFeb 23, 2016

I felt accomplished, I had just helped my cousin change my car brakes and it was the first time I had done it. When we got the others off he looked at me and said “ God D*** cuzzo you was really bout to F*** some S*** UP”. We laughed and I got to see another cousin of mine who told me that Greasy Street got its nickname because cafe` owners would throw old grease on the street to keep the dust down. All my life I had the idea that someone created the nickname greasy street because if you didn’t know the people there you could assume they weren’t the kindest of people. Just having this information stopped me from going anywhere else I hadn’t been already.

The next stops were Christman Street in Cleveland MS and the Paramount Blues Marker in Boyle MS. I didn’t have anyone with me so I took the time (in the rain) to really experience it. I tried to look like I had never looked before. I tried to see not what is now, but what was and as I read the markers something “clicked” and I knew this is where blues came from. Of course I knew all along The Delta birthplace of America’s music and the rest of the sayings, but after this journey I believe I have gotten a better understanding of birthplace of America’s Music.

--

--