Trevor Moomaw
Does Multitasking Make Work Easier?
2 min readMar 2, 2018

--

Experimenting with Our Soft Skill part 3

In order to best compare the utility of multitasking I thought it imperative to only introduce one variable at a time into the mix. Since I have already tested my productivity doing homework while listening to music with words, I chose to then try doing homework while listening to music without words.

I found that this is my preferred method to accomplish a task. In the same vein, I used music I knew and music I did not in order to mirror my other experiment. I experienced varying degrees of success with this method as well with one exception: this method works better.

I chose to listen to Bach Cello Suites 1–6 which is music I don’t know very well. I did not find it to be jarring or subduing in any way. I found it pleasant and it made my homework experience enjoyable and did not prevent me from re-reading or misinterpreting sentences. All I found, was that it did not keep me energized.

I then listened to electronica music without words. This method of multitasking makes my productivity soar. It is almost not worth mentioning the other methods because I was able to enjoy the music while also getting the most work done. I was so productive that I was lost in the work and the music at the same time that I forgot that I was conducting an experiment altogether.

There are several things that can be noted from these findings. First, it is difficult to experiment on ourselves without avoiding confirmation bias. I was already aware of the science behind words and music before I began. However, I cannot ignore the fact that my productivity was unmatched by the other methods of listening to music and doing homework at the same time. Second, in the case where I was listening to music I knew and enjoyed, it made my task more enjoyable as well.

In this instance, multitasking is not only possible but also increases productivity. It would appear that the evidence supporting reading and writing while listening to music without words resonates with my own productivity on a personal level.

--

--