Trevor Moomaw
Does Multitasking Make Work Easier?
2 min readMar 3, 2018

--

Some Argue that Multitasking is Possible but…

I found throughout the course of my research that there seemed to be some discrepancy between the possibility and impossibility of multitasking. The crux of the argument rests upon the definition of multitasking. My position is that multitasking is impossible because the brain cannot perform two functions efficiently or productively at the same time that require the same parts of the brain.

Those who disagree and believe that multitasking is possible add an important caveat. These proponents suggest that multitasking is possible as long as the two tasks are related to the same task. This sounds like carries water but breaks under any kind of scrutiny. What happens if someone is trying to listen and read something that is related to the same task? The answer is they do both tasks poorly.

In this instance, I am referring to Zharia Jones’ blog regarding Switch-tasking Vs. Multitasking found via the following link https://medium.com/the-art-of-multi-tasking/switch-tasking-vs-multitasking-8e76b5fb7eac.

Multitasking is doing multiple tasks at once but they’re related to the same outcome. The phrase “but they’re related to the same outcome” is a crucial part to the definition (Jones, 2018)

In Most Offices, Switch Tasking IS Multitasking

This argument is semi-valid but it simply attempts to say the same thing in a different way. As far as this writer is concerned, the only thing that the two camps are arguing about is the definition of multitasking. I commend my colleague for making a decent point but I find it to be unfounded on an empirical basis. As someone who has worked in an office that required “multitasking skills”, my experience sees the term as merely a euphemism for a bombardment of emails and phone calls.

Be Wary of the Term “Multitasking” on Job Websites

At the end of the day, it matter little how one defines what multitasking is. It is of much greater consequence how the employer defines multitasking. Typically, the term is used to define a fast-paced, stressful environment involving a high numbered of menial tasks for entry-level positions.

I was drawn to the topic because I was fired from an office job once for my lack of multitasking skills. I was hoping to be able to improve those skills by learning more about the term. My research has lead me to the conclusion that multitasking is not efficient and is not part of any job that I would find satisfaction in.

--

--