For My Brother, Jack

Nanci Arvizu
Dog Tales
Published in
4 min readDec 23, 2019

--

Yesterday, I had to say goodbye to my brother. Mom and Dad had to send him home.

This is a good place to see everything out front. Jack and I liked this spot. Picture by Nanci Arvizu

I know it’s only for now. I know I’ll go home too someday. We’ve always known.

Mom and Dad and Sister are so sad. Lenny the horse told Jack yesterday morning he’d be seeing him soon too. His feet and knees have been bad for a long time and, he said he’s just plain tired.

Jack told me he could see our Mother when he looked just past where we are. He reminded me of how pretty she is. “You look just like her,” he told me.

He told me our Father is there too and some of our siblings. “We’ll all be together again,” he said. I look forward to that.

For now, though, it’s my job to stay here a while longer and look after Mom, Dad and Sister.

Jack had been sick for a while. Mom did so much to try and make him better, but I know she doesn’t like making us take medicines that can make us sicker. She says she’s a minimalist that way. I agree. We’re too old for that kind of stuff now. There was a time when I had to take these awful pills. They didn’t do…

--

--

Nanci Arvizu
Dog Tales

Intentionally, relentlessly, consistently pursue your passion. www.nanciwrites.com