Sorry, the poop fairy isn’t real

Pug puppy Mishti prays to be saved

Laura Meskanen-Kundu
Dog Tales
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Lick… Lick… Hi, I’m a black pug, Mishti. Thought I’d give you a kiss to start with as I’m new here and out to make friends. ❤ I love to share ‘tails’ of my feats and some troubling thoughts that have crept up lately. Don’t worry I’ll try to be the perfect little princess about it. Just like I am with mummy. I make her life a loving tired mess, but hey I’m still learning. You don’t call me a puppy for nothing.

Let’s get to the point. Because I need to tell you about my morning. I really need to get this out and off my chest. I was on a lovely walk and came across the most repugnant pile of shit. Quite literally. Sorry about the language.

On a typical day, I’d just go for it, sniffing and enjoying the scent. But not today. I remembered what would follow. Mummy would force that horrid liquid down my throat. The poison! I can’t. I will not have it. No one wants to go through that every few months. It makes you lethargic and feeling ill for days.

Usually, on walks, I’m out to please and make new acquaintances. I affectionately jump at passersby, rush to meet new dogs, and bark to get their attention. I eat everything in sight, including my new friend's fresh pile of feces.

When this happens I’d hear my mummy scream “NO… NO… Leave it… Drop it… MISHTI… Don’t eat that poop!”. All the while I was enjoying my find. But no longer! As much as I cry and resist she makes sure I can’t relish the sweet treat. Until next time. Until our next walk, I tell her.

After we get home I hear her curse that “dog crap isn’t going to ‘melt away’ with the rains”. I’m not sure what this means, but I get the whiff it might have something to do with my poop licking. But I like it so so so much…

Next, my thoughts started running at the vet's office. The doc said, “parasites in dog poop stay in the soil and environment possible for years causing health problems to both dogs and humans”. That’s when it hit me. That’s why mom keeps feeding me disgusting pills and liquids. Yuck! Will it ever stop?

I’m still growing and learning, but even I’ve gotten to know during this year that diseases and parasites can be transmitted from animals to people (zoonotic diseases). I mean, this whole COVID thing is a zoonotic disease. It started in China from bats spreading to people. So… that means… dog poop is bad? Or more precisely the parasites in it? But those frozen stools… those ‘poopsicles’ are so tasty!

To end my suffering I’ve started to pray to the poop fairy nightly. I’ve pleaded to be saved from all the nice piles of crap I see on my walks and the temptation they pose. But I’m not sure if the message has been heard in the cosmos. There’s still fresh dung each morning on our walks. So, what should a cute puppy like me do next? Sniff… sniff… please help me and turn your head down to pick up that poop! 😭

--

--

Laura Meskanen-Kundu
Dog Tales

Designer by day, storyteller by night and devoted mummy of a mischievous little pug Mishti