Star’s Big Day Out

Tara Heavey
Dog Tales
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2018
Photo by Emerson Peters on Unsplash

Oh goody, goody, goody! I can hear the going out noises, all the walking about upstairs, Tara putting her shoes on. Although she hasn’t fed me yet. Why hasn’t she fed me yet? Rumbly feeling in my tummy.

Yes, yes, yes! I hear the car boot open. Someone’s coming to the door. Boom! I’m out before it’s fully open. ‘Star!’ I hear from behind me, but I’m already gone, slipping a bit on the tiles in the hall but I. Do. Not. Care. Because I’m Sooo excited.

“Upjump!” I don’t have to be told twice. The boot closes behind me. But Gisele isn’t in yet. Strange. And I still haven’t had my food. Never mind. We’re going on a walk, we’re going on a walk, my tail beats in time, we’re going on a walk.

The two little female bipeds are coming too. That’s good. More people to throw sticks. (Although Gisele isn’t here. Why isn’t Gisele here)? The smallest one keeps putting in her hand to stroke my back. ‘It’s alright, Star.’ She says. Of course it’s alright. We’re going on a walk!

This is not the usual way. Must be going to the other forest, the one with the river. Goody! They can throw sticks in the water, then me and Gisele can jump in … but Gisele isn’t here.

Oh. We’re going past the trees. I might as well lie down.

Objects really big, like giant houses moving, roaring past. I am sitting up now, we are going really fast. I can tell because my ears are being blown back by the wind as it rushes in through the open windows. I don’t like it much. I’ve never been here before. Gisele isn’t with me. My tummy is rumbly.

We’re here. Goody. Bursting for a pee. They’ve put the lead on. Different smells, different sounds, my body feels different. I’m glad the bipeds are with me.

We’re going into a building, different sounds, different smells, new bipeds. They are kind. They have big, soft, warm hands that stroke and soothe. I like that. Especially now, when my body is sort of shaky. The hands stop the shaking a bit. Oh boy! Other dogs.Come here! Play with me! But they’re all on leads.

They bring us into a small room. The smells are all around me now. The newest biped has those shiny things at the top of her face that make her eyes look bigger. She’s touching me all over, looking into my ears, my eyes, my mouth. I don’t like it but I let her.

Yes! It’s time to go. At last, we’re going for our walk. But what are they doing? They must have forgotten me. Come back! Don’t leave me here. Don’t. Don’t.

I’m dragged in another direction, to an even smaller room. Two people lift me high on top of a table. I’m not allowed on the table at home. A thing makes a buzzing sound and they hold it against my leg. It doesn’t hurt but it rumbles strangely against my skin. And then they put a small, shiny stick into my leg …

What happened? My mouth is so dry. Someone’s giving me water. I drink it all. My head feels heavy. I think I’ve been asleep. Where’s Tara? And the small bipeds? And where’s my food?

I can hear them! They’re behind the door. I’m so excited! Now we can go on our walk.

Photo by Marek Szturc on Unsplash

--

--