My secular religion

atheism, pantheism, and the subjective search for meaning

Anna Mercury
All Gods, No Masters

--

Photo by Adarsh Kummur on Unsplash

I believe in God. I believe God is — and that’s the end of the sentence. In the words of the Abrahamic God itself, “I am who am,” or to put it more intelligibly, I am that which is.

To me, God is. God is that which is. God is everything which is. God is everything. Everything is God. Therefore, nothing is God. Therefore, there is no God. And yet, God still is, because things that are still are.

This is a story we choose how to tell.

My religion is wholly secular. I have found resonance in certain teachings of Taoism, Buddhism, non-dual Hinduism, neo-Paganism and Christianity, probably because they’re what I’ve been most exposed to. My spiritual practices include Dialectical Behavioral Therapy and conditioning, anarcho-syndicalism and dual power, class consciousness, Christ consciousness, allowing and changing. Dialectics are my gospel.

My disciple is myself. My guru is the totality of my experience. My God is existence. My practice is learning, and passing on. Internalizing, and externalizing. Inhaling, exhaling. It is all sacred.

Writing is my prayer. Everything I love to do is my prayer. Life is a story we choose how to tell.

--

--