On the Power of Recognizing I Don’t Exist

These aren’t even my thoughts.

Anna Mercury
All Gods, No Masters

--

Photo by abhijeet gourav on Unsplash

The thing about writing down a spiritual experience is that you’re unlikely to convince anyone of anything. If you’ve had a similar experience, you’ll already understand. If you haven’t, you probably won’t, and reading this won’t help you to. If you haven’t, I humbly ask that, for a moment, you suspend your disbelief. I ask you not to believe, but to merely entertain the possibility that there is some dimension of experience you haven’t encountered that others have, and that it is exactly as life-changing and awe-inspiring as everyone says it is.

I use the word “dimension” because it looks, to me, like a graph that was once two-dimensional added a third. When we watch movies, we imagine the two-dimensional screen is a real world and we allow ourselves to be drawn into it. If we get up to go to the bathroom, we shift out of identifying with what’s happening on the screen. In the moment of transition, we become aware that we are there, watching a movie. Like a camera, we pull focus from the reality on screen to our reality and back again.

You are looking at a screen right now. Take a breath with me. Inhale. There’s you, there’s the screen, and there’s you looking at it. Now, exhale.

--

--