Should I Become Enlightened or Maybe Just Go Outside?

On nature, society, and what it means to walk a spiritual path

Anna Mercury
All Gods, No Masters

--

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Ever since I was little, I’ve been looking for God. I remember wandering in the wild land behind our house, pondering connections and the elements, then running home to write down all my inspirations. I wanted to understand how it all fit together — not scientifically, but energetically. I wanted to know what all this meant. I was eight. I didn’t know then that I was doing anything spiritual. I just had an innate hunger to learn the language of universal harmony.

When I was thirteen, I started doing yoga. At fifteen, it became a serious spiritual practice for me. At sixteen, I started going to the Self-Realization Fellowship weekly, and having never been a church-goer before, I learned the wisdom of sitting in a pew. I read about Buddhism, Hinduism and Wicca. In my twenties, I added Taoism and Alchemy, Ayurveda and Chinese medicine, and New Age teachers like Alan Watts, Eckhart Tolle and Teal Swan.

At twenty-three, I had a spiritual breakthrough, the kind of world-shattering awakening where everything made sense, wouldn’t stop making sense, and I couldn’t live in the same way again. At twenty-seven, I had second, a more personal one. I read A Course in Miracles and became intimately aware of my own…

--

--