The Anarchist in Church

I wish everyone saw the Heaven we could build right here

Anna Mercury
All Gods, No Masters

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I went to church on Sunday, my first time in a long time. I’m not a Christian per se; I just love God. I’ll open whatever door to spiritual truth is put in front of me and see what’s in there. The name you give it doesn’t matter. From Taoism to nature to Alchemy to Jesus, the same truth is hidden in them all.

I think that’s what the pastor was getting at when he talked about finding unity despite our differences. He hit home that Jesus was the only real way to God, but, you know, don’t discount other people who don’t believe in Jesus yet. At general assemblies, they talk about that too: unity-in-diversity. It’s not only okay that we’re different, but it’s vital. Those differences are what make us whole.

The world loves divisions, the pastor said, but God loves us all the same. He said it doesn’t matter how we look, how rich we are, what political party we align ourselves with. He said that’s not what God cares about. God doesn’t care if you’re a Democrat or a Republican. God is the only judge, so don’t judge people who think differently from you.

The thing about church is, you can’t raise your hand and ask questions. If the teacher says something stupid, you can’t just call him out. But that pastor did say something stupid, something…

--

--