I Made Swedish Pancakes

Terence Larson
Dogwood Dispatch
Published in
1 min readNov 14, 2016

In the 1800s, my Swedish ancestors joined the LDS Church and left the coastal plains and forests of their homeland for the sagebrush and pioneer life of the Great Basin. I’d like to think Swedish pancakes were a dish those ancestors might have enjoyed making and eating — just like I did recently for the first time.

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup half and half
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter

Instructions:

Whisking between each ingredient, add the egg, half and half, flour, sugar, salt and butter in a mixing bowl (the finished batter should be runny). Butter up a frying pan placed on medium heat. To cook one pancake, drop a tablespoon of batter onto the frying pan. If the pancake isn’t more-or-less round, increase the heat slightly for the next pancake. Cook each side of the pancake until golden brown. Repeat until batter is gone. Makes about 15–20 small pancakes. Serve topped with jam.

(I got my recipe from this video. I adapted it slightly to make a smaller-sized batch.)

--

--

Terence Larson
Dogwood Dispatch

A Utah-based graphic designer and agricultural communication student.