A Shakespearean Werewolf

A Soliloquy

--

Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Despair has taken me, my life here ended!
My body beset by a curse so foul!
Hopes, dreams and wishes now lie in ruins,
The Devil has grip’d me tight in his fist.

My love, if you saw this terror inside,
Wouldst thou, nay, couldst thou still love me, in truth?
Should mine ears sprout long and be sheath’d in fur,
My teeth like daggers protrude most gruesome,
Arms, chest and body grown monstrous indeed,
Soul-trapped, be-caged by a demon within.

Nay, I shall not inflict this ‘pon thee, love.
Tis a torment too great to speak aloud.
Thy face shall not witness the dreadful change,
Thine ears be shielded, thy flesh safe from harm.
Turn away, my love, and see me no more,
‘Lest your heart soften and courage fails me.

Instead, I flee into the blackest night,
There to dwell with creatures of shredded souls.
Prithee, do not look for me, do not hope,
I am lost, remov’d from your loving arms.
Gaze upon me no more, for I am gone,
Just memory to thee, a ghost forlorn.

--

--

Cathryn Moore
Dominium Tenebrarum — The Underworld

Words are my passion. Writer of fiction and non-fiction. If you'd like to buy me a cup of tea, click here: https://ko-fi.com/cathrynmoore