Daily Post #515 Halftime 2023

Donnie SC Lygonis
Donnie SC Lygonis
Published in
2 min readJul 1, 2023

--

July 1st.

6 Months past, 6 months to go. Halftime so to speak.

The magic of the pre-summer halfway mark is that it starts with the summer period, which for many of us is a time of rest and recreation, and hopefully, reflection and contemplation.

For some, it is a welcome break after a hectic spring, I know the first half of 2023 for me has been extremely busy, I have even stopped writing my daily posts and weekly musings due to shifted priorities.

So now, finally the referee’s whistle has sounded for that longed for breather.

How are you going to spend your halftime?

I’m going to spend it summarizing my first 6 months of the year and thinking about what I want to achieve in the coming 6 months of the year.

I’m not so much for New Year’s resolutions but I am going to try to start the habit of Midsummer resolutions instead.

So when taking time off, don’t just rush off, see it as halftime (continuing the soccer reference) think through what you have done, managed, achieved.

Yes spend some time on what didn’t get done or didn’t work, but focus on what went well and was delivered.

Then plan for the second half of the game; what do you want to see on the scoreboard at full time, at the end of the year, and what do you need to do to get there? any changes needed? Any substitutions? Tactics?

Then come back out on the field with a renewed sense of purpose instead of a sense of dread, with a clear idea of where you are going and what needs to be done.

But now enjoy halftime, put your feet up, replenish your energy and don’t forget to hydrate 😊

--

--