Dear Person I miss

Vitana Monkam
Don’t Be Strangers
2 min readFeb 12, 2023
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

When you came into my life, I had no real sense of identity. I didn’t know who I was, and I didn’t know who I wanted to be. I still don’t know the latter, but meeting you has allowed me to at least discover parts of myself. I got to grow alongside you, and I learned so much about myself along the way. Like did you know that I’m quite good at debate? Well, I’m sure that you do, you were the one that got me into it. You always did say that I was good at speaking, and I quote “just need more experience.” Well, you were right, I am pretty good at speaking now or at least more comfortable.

We lived through so many chapters together. I was there when things got rough for you at home, and you were there to listen to all my worries about my family. You were always there for me when I needed a shoulder to cry on, and you were the first person in my life that made me feel like there was nothing wrong with being myself.

And for that, I thank you with all of my heart, and I’m so sorry that I couldn’t always be there for you.

I wish that we could’ve lived all of our chapters together, but in order to discover who I am, our story together had to end, or hopefully, just take a long break. I’ve had time now to live and experience life through hardships, laughter, happiness, and sadness, and through it all, I’ve always thought of you; The person that I miss the most and the person that I will probably never meet again.

Years have passed now, yet I still cling to the idea of someday meeting you again. Because truth be told, you were my first love, and I didn’t realize it till it was too late.

I now have a better idea of who I am, but I couldn’t have gotten there without your help. So thank you for the beautiful chapter, and I hope that your book is filled with many more beautiful chapters,

even if I won’t be around to read them.

--

--

Vitana Monkam
Don’t Be Strangers

I write about slow living, nutrition, wellness, and mindfulness.