Spencer Schoeben
doodles & deliberations
1 min readOct 8, 2015

--

Note to self: do not underestimate the power of giving a shit. This one’s more important in life than you’d ever imagine.

I was lying in bed thinking. I’d slept 21 hours the night before. Or, should I say, I went on a 21 hour nap from 4pm to 1pm the next day. I was severely, severely sleep deprived and I didn’t even realize it. Depleted from over exertion and yet I nearly felt lazy. I’d become a workaholic, swallowed by passion, and genuinely addicted to my own advancement. Now I’m having an ‘a-ha!’ moment in which I discover that which truly matters in life. I realize, now, what I’d wished I’d known years prior: putting up with your own apathy is perhaps one of the cruelest things you could ever do.

Either give a shit about what you’re doing, or do something else. Provocative while also seemingly obvious, that statement is more often said than taken to heart.

To do something and not care is a shame. But to care and not do something is a tragedy.

--

--

Spencer Schoeben
doodles & deliberations

Learning by doing. A cyberspace nomad on a never ending adventure to determine the purpose of existence. Architect of experiences, writer of thoughts.