Spencer Schoeben
doodles & deliberations
2 min readOct 4, 2015

--

October 4th, 1942 — July 3rd, 2015

So, so you think you can tell
Heaven from Hell

Happy 73rd Birthday, Grandad

I miss you.

Thanks for everything you have taught me, and everything you will undoubtably continue to teach me.

I drew a picture of you, for you. I hope it’s cheesy enough!

Feel free to hang it up in Heaven and/or Hell. I’m not sure where you’ve decided to spend your free time now that you have so much of it… not that you didn’t already spend an abundance of time exploring all of your “passions.”

Especially before you got sick.

I’m guessing you split your time between the two.

Heaven because you were one of the most generous, loving, and understanding people I’ve ever encountered.

And Heaven is where “they” tend to send the good souls like you.

But the curiosity, sense of mischief, and semi-ironic degree of schadenfreude you and I share leads me to believe you’ve been spending time cracking jokes with the devil, serving ice water to your compatriots from the “dine and dash” club you led in college, and engaging in some questionable antics.

As you should.

And did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?

You deserve to break the rules and have a blast now that you are free of the pain and suffering; both that which was brought on through physical illness, and that which you experienced existentially, realizing we live amongst mere fools.

You are free now! At peace.

I have no doubt in my heart that you aren’t making the most of every moment.

Just as you always did.

How I wish, how I wish you were here
We’re just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl
Year after year
Running over the same old ground
What have we found?
The same old fears
Wish you were here

--

--

Spencer Schoeben
doodles & deliberations

Learning by doing. A cyberspace nomad on a never ending adventure to determine the purpose of existence. Architect of experiences, writer of thoughts.