10 Questions with DoorDash’s New VP, Global Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging, Lisa Lee

DoorDash
DoorDash
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2019

Lisa Lee, our new Vice President of Global Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging is a seasoned pro with a lengthy record of impacting real–and award-winning–cultural change in tech companies. She’s held leadership positions at Facebook, Pandora, and most recently Squarespace. Lisa is a self-proclaimed diversity geek who spends 90% of her time thinking about a more equal and just society through the intersections of technology and our daily lives, which is obviously something all of us at DoorDash can get behind! As we’ve grown (hello all 50 states), the impact that we have on Dashers, merchants, and most importantly, our employees has not been lost on us. With Lisa’s leadership, we look forward to evolving into an even better DoorDash — one that’s hyper-focused on evaluating, enhancing, and promoting a diverse and inclusive culture.

To get to know her better, here are 10 questions with Lisa:

Your number one reason for joining DoorDash?

One of the things I’ve learned in doing the work of diversity and inclusion is that for a company to be successful, you have to build D&I into a company’s DNA early on and have a leadership team that is open, transparent, and willing to take a hands-on approach to lead. DoorDash is a young company that is growing and shifting every single day, most notably realized by quintupling our geographic footprint to more than 3,300 cities in the past year, and its leadership team is one that pushes the boundaries of what’s possible. Both of these create an incredibly exciting opportunity to build a different future for a culture architect like myself.

What got you into the Diversity & Inclusion space in the first place?

I grew up in a couple of different countries with completely different cultures. As an Asian American, immigrant woman I’ve lived the experience of the “other” from an early age. From Taiwan, to South Africa, to LA, and everywhere I’ve had the good fortunes of visiting, I realized if my experience is never going to be one where I “fit in”, then how can I utilize it to help people feel a sense of belonging where that power stems first and foremost from who they are, as well as in the conditions in which they live? This mission to empower those around us and properly support our peers, while accepting and celebrating our differences, is what I’ve spent my career working towards. I very much look forward to shaping our employees’ mindsets, where celebrating diversity and inclusion at its core goes beyond the workplace, into our products, and into our communities.

Favorite podcast right now?

I am a bit of a podcast junkie and I love trying out different episodes. However, I am a loyalist to The Nod, Up First, and Library Talks by New York Public Library. I’m also eagerly holding my breath for more episodes from 2 Dope Queens, Politically Reactive, and About Race. Recommendations are always welcome.

Twitter or Instagram?

My goal is less time on both.

Favorite restaurant available on DoorDash?

Lotus Vietnamese Sandwiches on 229 5th Avenue in Brooklyn, New York.

What’s a quote you live by?

I have three:

  1. “Float like a butterfly and sting like a bee,” by Muhammed Ali, for the way that I work.
  2. “Be like water,” by Bruce Lee, for the difficulties that I face.
  3. “When the door that you have been knocking at finally swings open, you don’t ask why, you run through,” by Diane Lockhart from The Good Wife, for when I am experiencing that darn impostor syndrome.

Favorite country to visit?

Taiwan! My parents spend half of their time there now and I truly enjoy tasting all of the delicious foods that so fondly remind me of home.

Best piece of advice you’ve received?

Prioritize your values and the relationships that matter to you the most. The rest will follow.

If you were stranded on an island and can only get one meal delivered, what would it be?

Kimchi soondubu jjigae (Korean soft tofu stew) with purple rice.

What fills up your free time?

Outside of time with family, I try to see dance, music, and theatre shows. I also love to read and attend talks and lectures.

Welcome to the family, Lisa!

--

--