My advice to InfraredStudio Go-fundme

Richard Mathis
Dork Side Cookies
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2017

So this company asked me to help promote their gofundme, which we’re happy to do, promoting artis1ts is in our DNA, thats what we do.

I looked at their page, and it looks like they have a lot of passion and they’re doing some cool stuff, but I think they can be more successful, so below is what I told them. Actually, this is me telling them, because of the twitter limit and they don’t follow us (yet hopefully) so I couldn’t send them a DM.

“Hey, can I make a recommendation? We’re all about helping creators to promote and get funding for their projects, so I’m excited to promote your gofundme, but I have a few ideas I think will help you get more funding.

When people read the page, if the first few lines don’t grab their attention, they might close the page. I think you need a short blurb at the very top of your funding page that tells me Why they should be excited about the project at a 10,000 foot view, THEN you say you’re going to explain who is implementing it and why should they want to help this happen. Finally, you end with the details like you already have. I imagine something like this would be at the top of the page.

Mehawar — Heroes & Gods is a game where you will lead an army of war machines, wizards, fire breathing dragons and more on a breathtaking journey starting with Babylonian legends and continuing through all manner of mythical and real heroes and monsters throughout history. As you lead your army you’ll have to decide whether you will cooperate to crush your enemies or if you’ll go it alone! Mehawar is a board game with miniatures for 1 to 6 players, please help us bring this exciting game to as many people as possible!

Something like that at the top, with a great emotional pic, then the “Who We Are” bio like you have, then the “Whats We Are Building”, then probably a “How you can help” where you take that last paragraph and you talk about the prototype and what you’re trying for, and then the appeal to people to help spread the word.

Thats my idea. If you want me to share your link immediately on our many twitter and fb pages, I will, if you want to make any changes first, I’ll wait, then post. Either way, good luck!

--

--