The Mamba Mentality

Daylan Burgess
Dose of Daylan
Published in
3 min readMar 24, 2020

How Kobe Bryant’s “Mamba Mentality” inspires us to turn our dreams into reality.

(Photo taken by Sports Illustrated’s Jon Soohoo)

To this day, I am still in shock at the tragic news of Kobe Bryant’s death. January 26th was a day where the basketball world was changed forever. Scratch that, the entire WORLD was changed forever. After the news broke, the world felt a pain like no other. All I could say to myself was:

“Nah, not Kobe. Not Kobe Bryant. There is NO way Kobe Bean Bryant is going out like this. He is KOBE!”

As the tears rolled down my face, I struggle to come to terms with the timing of Kobe’s death. It felt like I had lost someone close to me. As multiple news sources confirmed his death, the reality started to painfully settle in. My favorite basketball player, role model, and inspiration’s time on this earth was over. But one thing that will live on is Kobe’s Mamba Mentality.

Kobe Bryant’s will to win and determination to be great on and off the court became known as the “Mamba Mentality.” A term coined by Kobe himself, the Mamba Mentality encourages you to find what you are passionate about and do whatever it takes to turn that dream into reality. For Kobe, that dream was playing professional basketball in the National Basketball Association (NBA).

Early on, everybody knew Kobe wanted to be the best player to have ever played. Day in and day out, Kobe was in the gym perfecting his craft. From the late night grinds to the early morning wake up calls, Kobe was determined to do whatever it takes to win a NBA championship and nothing was going to stop him.

“Kobe had a dream. Kobe put in the work, and with the help of his family, teammates, and coaches, Kobe became a 5-time NBA champion and one of the greatest players in NBA history.”

As I reflect on Kobe’s life and legacy, his impact was bigger than basketball. Whether you had dreams of becoming a professional basketball player, doctor, or best-selling author, Kobe wanted us to have a relentless pursuit of our dreams. Falling in love with the process mixed with a “never quit” mindset were the successful ingredients that separated Kobe from his competition.

The same characteristics that made Kobe great can be found within us. If we consistently put in the work, develop mental toughness, and water our habits with an undeniable grind, then we WILL see the results we are looking for. Now, I’m not saying the road to success will be easy. I’m pretty sure there were times where Kobe felt like giving up. But we have to remember why we started and who we are doing it for.

“Never losing sight on why you started will give you a sense of purpose and help you persevere through the tough times.”

Kobe, words can’t describe how much you impacted my life. You were my role model, the reason why I started watching basketball, and you inspired me and millions alike to be the best that we can be. I usually don’t read books for my leisure but when your Mamba Mentality book came out, I BEGGED my mom to get it as a Christmas present. I got a glimpse of what made you great and your book quickly became the best book I have ever read.

“Your impact was bigger than basketball, your iconic status is unmatched, and your pursuit of greatness inspires us to find our inner Mamba Mentality.”

So Kobe, thank you. Thank you for being you. Thank you for choosing greatness. Thank you for sharing your light. Thank you for inspiring a kid like me to chase my dreams. Rest in peace to a legend and may the Mamba Mentality live on through us.

--

--

Daylan Burgess
Dose of Daylan

Bringing you a dose of positive vibes and motivational content that‘ll help you live on purpose and live in peace.